MUSEUM CALENDAR: Demonstrations

  • wildflowers

    Historic Life Weekend: Wildflowers

    Saturday 06 June to Sunday 07 June 2020
    10.30am - 6.00pm
    A rich diversity of plants in meadows, at field edges as well as in gardens has been a feature of the countryside of our region. Find out more about wildflowers, and the insect, birds or small mammals they support, over the course of this... (more info)
  • Andy on the horse for feature page

    Historic Life Weekend: Agriculture – The Role of Horses

    Saturday 04 July to Sunday 05 July 2020
    10.30am - 6pm
    The seasons and weather conditions dictate the times to sow, harvest and undertake many different tasks needed to look after a farm or estate. During this weekend, we will have demonstrations with horses and other farming implements to... (more info)
  • wood crafts promo for feature page

    Historic Life Weekend: Heritage Crafts and Skills at Risk

    Saturday 01 August to Sunday 02 August 2020
    10.30am - 4.00pm
    There are many traditional skills and crafts that now have few people with a working knowledge of them. During this weekend we will bring together a range of craftspeople who practice different skills and offer the opportunity to see many... (more info)
  • Summer Steam Show

    Saturday 15 August to Sunday 16 August 2020
    10.30am - 5pm
    Join us at our annual Summer Steam Show on Saturday 15 August – Sunday 16 August! Celebrate all modes of transport and learn about the impact they had on the rural community from the introduction of steam into farming practice to the... (more info)
  • Autumn & Countryside Show

    Saturday 03 October to Sunday 04 October 2020
    10.30am - 5pm
    Experience the sights and sounds of the countryside, and celebrate the end of the harvest at this wonderful Autumn & Countryside Show on Saturday 3 – Sunday 4 October 2020! Our popular seasonal show features traditional working... (more info)
  • Jez Smith playing Hurdy Gurdy

    Historic Life Weekend: Music – Historic Homes & Harmonies

    Saturday 17 October to Sunday 18 October 2020
    11.00am - 4.00pm
    This Historic Life Weekend has a theme of Music – Historic Homes & Harmonies. Come and listen to music played in the different historic homes at the Museum – some traditional melodies or songs, some played on historic... (more info)
  • Historic Life Weekend: Fire & Light

    Saturday 07 November to Sunday 08 November 2020
    11.00am - 4.00pm
    Today we can come home to a house that can often be heated quickly, with the means to cook rapidly and light at the flick of a switch. A walk through the Museum during this weekend will give a better idea of how homes in the past were lit... (more info)